Potential

In case you hadn’t noticed, it didn’t take me long to break my New Year’s resolution about blogging every day. My intentions were good, but my dedication just wasn’t there. To be honest, I had my mind of a lot of other things besides blogging, so I just didn’t do it. I guess you could say I wasn’t passionate enough about posting something here every day.

As expected, I noticed the number of views this blog received dwindled each day I didn’t write something. This was definitely not a surprise, as it is sort of customary for things that don’t have a lot of effort put into them to receive less and less attention. This tends to be the case with people; the ones who don’t try very hard are generally the ones who eventually fade into obscurity.

Well, unless your name is Andrew Bynum, that is.Atlanta Hawks v Cleveland Cavaliers

Here is just a sampling of the professional basketball career of Andrew Bynum (I was going to use his full name here, but apparently his middle name – like much of what goes on inside his head – is something of a mystery.): He once attempted to steal the ball from one of his own teammates – on purpose. He was suspended four games and fined $25,000 for a vicious flagrant foul on J.J. Barea during the 2011 playoffs. He injured his knee while bowling last season and never played a game for the Philadelphia 76ers. And this season he was such a pain in the butt in Cleveland, the Cavs sent him packing to Chicago, who promptly released him in a money-saving move.

Considering that’s just a sampling of how nerve-racking being a coach or teammate of Bynum can be, you would think this might spell the end of his enigmatic NBA career. Not so, however. At last check, SI.com was reporting Bynum was drawing interest from eight different teams, including the reigning NBA champions, the Miami Heat. ESPN’s Chris Broussard reports that playing time and the team’s status as a title contender would be major factors in the former All-Star center’s final choice of where to play next.

So, let’s review here, shall we? Show flashes of immense basketball talent, put up wildly inconsistent numbers, blatantly attempt to injure players smaller than you, go bowling on a balky knee, prove to be enough of a pain in the rear that your team suspends and then trades you, get waived by your new team, and then sit back and wait for the offers to come rolling in. Makes sense, right?

kinseyA few years ago, my brother and I went to see a Memphis Grizzlies game. They were playing the Denver Nuggets, who still had Allen Iverson and Carmelo Anthony at the time. The Griz were basically tanking the season at this point, and all of their good players (including a pre-Lakers Pau Gasol) were sitting out that night. They still wound up winning the game, though, because a guy named Tarence Kinsey went for 20-plus points.

Where is Tarence Kinsey today? He’s overseas, playing for Partizan Belgrade of the Serbian League. Now, I’m not saying Tarence Kinsey ever possessed the raw basketball talent of an Andrew Bynum. What I am saying is I once saw Tarence Kinsey score more than 20 points in a professional basketball game. I’m pretty sure he had to work pretty hard to even be on the floor that night. And now he’s not even in the league.

I believe there are few things more frustrating in life than having to watch people with “potential” be given endless chances to succeed while other people who work their butts off never seem to get an opportunity. Michael Jordan once got cut from a basketball team, but someone later saw how hard he worked and gave him a second chance. What did Bynum do to earn all these chances? He was tall, and he was supposed to be really good. He’s the guy with the golden smile who got the promotion over the family man with the college degree.

If I don’t write regularly, I don’t expect that many people to stop by here. I’m not a household name, so I can’t just churn out anything and expect to get a thousand visits a day. That’s okay, and I accept that. It just makes me want to work harder to succeed. I wonder what message the continuing saga of Andrew Bynum is telling us, though. If only I had a little more potential to show people. Who knows what I could get away with then?

Leave a Reply

