A Noble Flaw?

Last month, I wrote a post about how our beloved family pet, Rigel, was killed by some idiot driver who didn’t even stop to tell us he had just run over our dog (I’m still not quite over this, as you can tell.). I was so angry about the situation at the time that I made a bold declaration: We were getting another dog – immediately. I then followed that up by making another proclamation: This dog, unlike the last one, would reside in the house with us. We then proceeded to get a new Yellow Lab puppy, who my son, Caleb, inexplicably named “Cookie.”

I had never had a dog live in the house with me before Cookie, who is now four months old, and he has taught me one thing for certain during the time he has lived with us: I never want another house cookiedog again. It’s not that I don’t love him, but he nips and he chews on things he’s not supposed to and he has to be let outside and he barks at all the wrong times – problems which would not be such a big deal if he were not inside the house. I know he will soon be bigger and better able to fend for himself, and he will be able to spend more time outside. I anxiously await that time.

I would say that I had some questionable judgment concerning this whole idea, except I know exactly what I was thinking when we decided to welcome a new dog into our home: I was going to fix the previous wrong, eliminating the variables that made the first scenario fail. Had Rigel not been outside that night, he would not have been hit by a car and would still be alive; ergo, if we keep a new dog in the house, it is much less likely he will come to harm.

In short, I believed I could create perfection … which I believe makes me very similar to the current president of the United States of America, Barrack Hussein Obama.

While I could very easily fill up the rest of this space with issues I don’t believe President Obama is handling properly, I will give him this: He is doggedly determined to see his agenda achieved. Sometimes I wish I had the same kind of determination to get things done. Usually, if something comes out of the president’s mouth, it’s going to come to fruition one way or another.

I’m sure I will be accused of some naiveté here, but I honestly believe Barrack Obama is doing what he feels is best for the United States of America. I also believe this is the president’s greatest flaw. He seems to believe we can achieve a perfect society and that his vision for action is what will bring that society to pass. I would even go so far as to say he believes Utopia can be achieved.

“Utopia” is generally defined as a society possessing highly desirable or perfect qualities, and, really, if you stop and think about it, there’s not many among us who wouldn’t like to see that achieved. Who wouldn’t want to eradicate sickness, put an end to prejudice, ensure financial security for all, and make sure dignity is available for every person? I know I would certainly like to live in a world like that.

The reality is, though, that Utopia does not exist on this earth, and even the noblest efforts to achieve it can bring unintended negative consequences. We’re already seeing some businesses cutting health insurance for their employees in anticipation of paying the fines that can come along with Obamacare. The “freedom of choice” for women the president so often espouses results in the deaths of over a million unborn children every year. Upping the minimum wage will make things easier for low-wage earners, but will further tax (no pun intended) businesses with another unfunded government mandate.

Whether or not you agree with me on those last political points, I think we can all agree on this: Actions have consequences, and even our best intentions can sometimes have unintended outcomes. Unfortunately, there will always be poor people, sick people, crazy people, bullied people, disadvantaged people. I’ve not saying we shouldn’t do our best to fight every one of these states of being, but we also have to be willing to accept sometimes that we don’t have all the answers.

I was convinced keeping our new dog in the house as much as possible would protect him. Labs don’t like to be cooped up, though, and my plan to create perfection for my family has actually led to quite a bit of chaos. Sometimes we have to give up our flawed dreams of Utopia and face the opposing view. I hope President Obama can learn to do the same.

Leave a Reply

