Point/Counterpoint: 38 Random Thoughts

Today, I am 38 years old. As I inch a little closer to big 4-0, I’m beginning to realize that for every bit of wisdom I seem to have picked up along the way, there seems to be something I either don’t know or some pesky fact which seems to negate any knowledge I might have gained – a yin for every yang, so to speak. Thus, I have decided to compile a list of 38 things I have learned in this life, with each item accompanied by an example of how knowledge is often tempered by … well … lack of knowledge (such as how to gracefully finish this sentence).

  1. Riding a bicycle is a great way to stay in shape./Falling off of a bicycle is a great way to ensure you’re unable to do anything to stay in shape for quite a while.
  2. Dogs can bring an infinite amount of joy while they are with us./Dogs can absolutely break your heart when they pass away.
  3. The original “Star Wars” trilogy still makes me want to dream./The newer “Star Wars” trilogy still makes me want to vomit in a bucket somewhere.
  4. “Lost” was a great television series./”Lost” was the most unsatisfying thing ever put on television.
  5. Required materials for bringing up girls include ribbons, bows, dresses, dolls, and teddy bears./Required materials for bringing up boys includes Band-Aids, helmets, mud boots, Spider-Man, and Buzz Lightyear.
  6. Church folk are some of the nicest folks in the world./Church folk can be some of the most aggravating folks in the world.
  7. Facebook is a great way to keep in touch with people you ordinarily would have no contact with whatsoever./Facebook can be a great reminder of why you never have any contact with those people.
  8. I can’t stand seeing other guys’ feet./There’s really no counterpoint here; I just really don’t like the sight of guy feet.
  9. The bones of a 2-5 year old are remarkably resilient./The bones of a 38-year-old … eh, not so much.
  10. I will never outgrow the childhood pleasure of reading a good comic book./There is no way I’m letting my kids read any of today’s comic books until they are well into their 20s.
  11. Snuggies are surprisingly warm and comfortable./”Snuggie” is a really unfortunate name for something a man would use.
  12. I love to drink coffee./I can’t handle drinking caffeine anymore, so I only drink decaf coffee.
  13. Most of the lyrics to most of the music I used to listen to in high school were incredibly juvenile and sound pretty ridiculous to me now./Due to the amazing technical skills of many of the musicians, I am still listening to a lot of the same music I was listening to in high school.
  14. I hate when people send me requests to play games on Facebook./I am now a Level 23 agent on the Facebook game “Marvel: Avengers Alliance.”
  15. I could eat a meal at a fast food restaurant for the price of one cup of coffee at Starbucks./I am about to use up the third of three Starbucks gift cards I received for Christmas last year.
  16. Coming up with a list of points to equal the amount of years old you are is a solid idea for a blog entry./Coming up with a list of points to equal the amount of years old you are is really, really difficult.
  17. Children will push you to the absolute brink of your patience sometimes./Children will pull you back from the brink of completely giving up on everything sometimes.
  18. I enjoy playing video games sometimes./I suck at playing video games virtually all the time.
  19. I spent the first few years of having to wear reading glasses trying to figure out how to never put them on./I have not worn my contact lenses in nearly two weeks.
  20. As a teenager, I used to wish girls would show more cleavage./As an adult, I wish girls would cover up their boobs.
  21. The older I get, the more I appreciate movies like “Doubt” and “Moneyball,” which don’t have big explosions, over-the-top dialog, and mega-budgets./I will be in line somewhere at midnight May 4 waiting to see “The Avengers.”
  22. I am as firm now in my convictions as I ever have been./I still have no idea how to present a proper argument.
  23. Reading the Bible is vitally important for me to make it through the day./It is rare that I read my Bible every single day of any given week.
  24. I love it when my kids are honest with me./I do not love it so much when the tell me my breath stinks, my shirt is ugly, or my hair looks silly.
  25. The love of people is fallible and often fails./The love of God is perfect and strong.
  26. Turning 30 didn’t bother me at all./The thought of turning 40 troubles me greatly.
  27. I am fascinated by ESPN Radio./I find myself daily yelling at the radio in my vehicle as I listen to ESPN Radio.
  28. If I could, I would have some type of music playing wherever I am 24 hours a day, 365 days a year./My job as a music director at a radio station sometimes makes me want to pull my hair out.
  29. I am not a fan of large crowds./If officials there would allow it, I would live in an apartment above Main Street in Walt Disney World.
  30. I am a merely adequate guitar player./I am a pretty decent bass guitar player.
  31. I am always grateful for birthday wishes people post on my Facebook page./I am always surprised by at least some of the people who choose to leave birthday wishes on my Facebook page.
  32. I like watching basketball more than any other sport./I get sick to death of hearing about basketball in Kentucky while college basketball season is going on.
  33. I love to write./My handwriting is like a cross between a doctor’s signature and something a drunken Irishman would scratch into the wood of the bar he was about to pass out on.
  34. I’m sitting here thinking, “I will probably never try and come up with a list this long again.”/I will probably try and come up with 39 random thoughts next year.
  35. I worry that I don’t have anything worthwhile to teach my children./I am amazed every day at what my children teach me.
  36. I keep saying I would like to write a novel, but I can’t find the time to write enough./I’ve been working on this post on and off for two days now, and I passed the 1,000 word mark a few thoughts ago.
  37. When my wife and I got married, she said she didn’t want any children./Ha, ha…
  38. Thirty-eight is not that old./Thirty-eight is actually kind of old.

Whew!

Leave a Reply

