The Lunchtime Take-Out: Life Is High School

If I could travel back in time, I would change nearly everything having anything to do with my high school years. I would start shavingMe. Ugh. my curly, unruly hair off. I would stop drinking milk at lunch, since, unbeknownst to me, I’m more than a little lactose intolerant. I would buy a small, fuel-efficient car instead of a gas-guzzling Camaro. I would swear off sodas, since they, apparently, make my face break out with zits. I would ditch my advanced chemistry and pre-calculus classes, head over to the vocational school, and learn myself an actual skill to earn a living with.

Unfortunately, I can never go back and make all those changes. Even more unfortunately, though, thanks to the miracles of the Internet, radio, television, and social media, I still can’t seem to get away from high school.

Let’s just take yesterday as an example. The top stories on ESPN Radio dealt with what Ed Reed said about Joe Flacco and what Rob Lowe tweeted about Peyton Manning. Mark Wahlberg had to apologize to the families of 9/11 survivors after telling the Men’s Journal he would have found a way to fight off the terrorists and land the plane. And, of course, the Kardashians did … well … something or other.

It seems to me we fret an awful lot these days about what people say about each other. I won’t deny it can be a serious issue. The book of James calls the tongue “a fire, a world of unrighteousness.” Obviously, when the Bible takes time to address something, it’s a pretty big deal. There are just so many things being said these days, though, that I simply don’t need to know about.

The whole Flacco/Reed thing reminded of two girls passing notes around about each other between classes. I’m interested in whether the Baltimore Ravens can beat the New England Patriots this weekend. Hearing ESPN’s analyst beat this thing to death yesterday was like walking through the high school cafeteria and hearing bits of conversations at the different tables. “Yeah, well, I heard Joe said Ed was ugly, too.”

And while what Wahlberg said was ill-advised, I’m sure it’s not something a thousand other guys haven’t thought at one time or another since the September 11 attacks. Should he have said it? Probably not. Then again, he’s a 44-year-old man who gets paid ridiculous amounts of money to dress up in costumes, stand under lights with makeup on, and pretend he’s someone he’s really not in made-up stories. Why, exactly, should we get all that bent out of shape about anything he says at all?

So much of our “news” today has been replaced by plain and simple gossip. What’s the headline you usually see after a presidential debate? “Contenders Go After Romney During Debate.” Yeah, well, how about you actually report what they said about specific issues? What would they do to stimulate the economy? How would they create more jobs? What do they feel the role of our military is in the current world climate? So Ron Paul and Rick Santorum yelled at each other (again). Not what I’m after here.

For those of us who would like to forget the past, let’s leave childish things behind and start acting like adults again. If Kim Kardashian marries and divorces three times in the next hour, who cares? I don’t want to go back to high school. Stop trying to drag me back there.

One thought on “The Lunchtime Take-Out: Life Is High School

  1. I was talking to my elementary aged class at church last night about the book of James and how the Bible is a great instruction book. We don’t need instructions for things that come easily and that we’re good at. Good reminder here. There’s more important stuff than what we want to focus on.

Leave a Reply

