What To Do When You Feel Like You Suck

There are times in a writer’s life when a certain line or phrase will enter his or her head that is so good, so irresistible that they simply can’t let it go, even if they know it isn’t really appropriate or even if it probably wouldn’t be the best idea to ever put it down on paper (or the Internet, for that matter).

With that opening thought in mind, I submit to you the following statement: Working an on-air fundraiser at the radio station I am employed at is often like being kicked in the nuts continuously for three or four days in a row.

There’s not any actual physical pain involved, as an actual kick south of the border would bring. No, it’s more of a mental and emotional pain, brought on by having to present your work, your personality, and your calling before the listening public for several hours a day and then subsequently having to wait upon them to either affirm what you do with a pledge of financial support or cast their vote with unspoken words by not responding at all.

Unfortunately, it’s usually the latter that occurs.

We held our “share-a-thon” fundraiser for our all-bluegrass station last week. The end result? We wound up getting about a third of our goal in pledges. In fact, since I arrived at Heartland Ministries Radio around six years ago, we’ve never met an on-air pledge goal during any of our fund drives on any of our stations. We’ve never even really gotten close, to be honest. I’ve been told that in the past, before my arrival, we used to have stations that would meet their goals fairly easily. Sadly, those days seem to be behind us.

Or maybe they’re not. Maybe I just suck.

No matter what you do in life, when you present what it is you “do” before people you are exposing yourself to all kinds of reactions, and there’s possibly nothing more discouraging than for people to look at that thing and say, “Meh.” You may have opened a business that failed. You may be a parent whose child is totally out of control. You may be a minister whose church is in decline.

You may be thinking, “I suck.”

This is where most writers would hit you with the lesson they’re trying to get at. It usually starts with words like “But God…” or “You don’t have to…” or something like that. I, however, have no such lesson to offer you here. I’m trying to understand all this just like you are. It hurts. It’s not pleasant. And, for the life of me, I can’t comprehend why these situations exist at all.

So, in a twist (for this blog anyway), I’m going to turn the tables. I want you to tell me what you do when you feel this way. When someone rejects your offering, what do you do? I’m not doing this so we can throw a big pity party. I’m doing it because I’m hoping we can start some kind of dialog that will encourage each other to keep going, even when we don’t reach the goal (even by a long shot).

Floor’s open. Let’s talk…

One thought on “What To Do When You Feel Like You Suck

  1. For our light affliction, which is but for a moment, worketh for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory;
    While we look not at the things which are seen: for the things which are seen are temporal; but the things which are not seen are eternal.
    I think when I’m feeling down, it drives me to the word. I am but for a moment, but he is forever. If we are living for Him and not ourselves, then even when we fail we can count it all joy! There are so many scriptures that speak to what you wrote here, you should dive right in…you can’t but help be encouraged!

Leave a Reply

