Where Does The Time Go?

So, if you’re one of those unfortunate souls folks who read my first (and only) blog entry here, you no doubt have realized it’s been, um, several days since I posted anything here. Undoubtedly, from everything I understand about the blogosphere, this rate of production does not a successful blog make, even if the writing is really, really good.

I can tell you that this didn’t occur because of a lack of trying. Every day, since I wrote the first post, I have blocked off dedicated time in my schedule to sit down and write. And, every day, something has come along and derailed my best intentions, so by the time I went to bed each evening I had managed to completely formulate another post in my head and completely avoid the keyboard I needed to use to get my thoughts onto paper … or the Internet … or wherever these things go…

Now, I’m sure when one looks at a blog that only has one post in a little over a week (Or has it been two weeks? You’ll find I’m horrible with time. Everything in my world happened “a couple of” days, weeks, months, or years ago.), their initial thought is probably, “Wow, that guy really doesn’t have anything to write about.” In this case, though, the opposite is true.

I’m backlogged.

You see, I’m constantly thinking of things to write about it. I’ve got tons of stories, editorials, columns, scripts, and songs all bouncing around in my head every day. The only problem is that by the time I get around to writing any of them down, I’m pretty well convinced that they all suck. So the key often tends to be writing them down as soon as I think of them and then hiding them somewhere I can’t find them for as long as it takes for me to not want to throw them immediately in the trash.

Sound extreme? I don’t know, it might be. But I can tell you I had at least two other ideas for this post today that you’re not getting to see. And the reason you’re not getting to see them is not so much because I thought they weren’t good, but rather because I didn’t have time to write them down.

Just the fact that I am married, have four children ages 8 and under, and have a 40-hour-a-week job would seem like enough in itself to keep me from getting much done. It’s not the volume, though; it’s the speed. Take today, for example. We went to Murray for lunch and a trip to Wal-Mart, came home, cleaned off the driveway (results of the beautiful oriental chestnut tree next to our driveway that is the bane of my existence these days), had dinner at my parents’ house, came home, and gave the kids baths. Next thing I know it’s 8:30.

Not much there the super-productive and successful in life would deem noteworthy, but it did take up an entire day … which leads me to what’s bugging me: Where does my time go? Seriously, if you fancy yourself a writer and can’t even find the time to write a blog, you’ve probably got a pretty serious issue on your hands. On the other hand, though, there were aspects of today I could never get back if I hadn’t experienced them – playing football with my son, helping my daughters pick chestnuts up out of the yard, and getting my 8-month-old to (finally) laugh at me.

All of that brings me to this: For the majority of my life, I’ve felt like a time-waster. I’m not doing the things I need to do to get ahead, I’m doing Task A when I should be focusing on Task B, I’m taking time to relax when I should be working or studying or basically doing anything other than what I’m doing. And, in some cases, all of those options have been true. Other times, though, maybe I was just living. And if that’s the case, then that was time well spent.

I have no idea whether any of this makes any sense. I’m actually quite tired right now as I’m typing this, and the whole thing has been kind of a free-flowing, top-of-my-head experiment. Now that I’ve got it out of my system, though, maybe the next post will be better. You know, when I get to it in about two weeks or so…

One thought on “Where Does The Time Go?

  1. I agree Ed. Life seems so crammed full of activities, work, family responsibilities, etc. I struggle with the same things. And thanks for the blog postings. I have enjoyed reading them.

Leave a Reply

